Thoughts on Travels | York 26-07-2017

It took about an hour and a half to get to York from Bradford. And then another 20 minutes or so to walk to my first stop which was The Shambles.

The old streets and overhanging buildings, the cobbled streets and swinging signs gave a certain feel to the whole area. It reminded me just how old the history of England really is. I’m sure that if I were to return of a nighttime, or a foggy time I would love it even more. I can already feel the fog twisting around my ankles.

After a good jaunt about the town, I headed off to my next stop which was the York Castle Museum. It was an incredibly enjoyable experience. Despite the multitude of kids groups in there that day. I think what made it so enjoyable was the Victorian Town in the middle. And this is Victorian era, not Victoria the Australian State (sorry guys) There were places you could go into and there were so many twists and turns it never felt like just a main street, it was also a few side streets, and shops and everything. I skyped with my parents and showed them while I was there.

For lunch I went to Wagamama, because I was craving Karaage (a Japanese deep fried chicken dish) unfortunately it was wholly disappointing and expensive. I don’t normally review restaurants, but the collection of overcooked, under-battered pieces of chicken was not very nice and it was expensive and I’m too much of a wimp to complain at the restaurant. So I shouldn’t say anything because I ate them right?

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

