Age Of Reason | Thomas Paine

IMG_0921

I got this one from Neil deGrasse Tysons 8 recommended books for smart people or something. (It’s on project Gutenberg, so you can read it for free! Legally!) I wass expecting a lot of stuffy, difficult to read text. When I realised that he was talking about christianity and the bible, I figured he was going to be flushing the whole book down the toilet, you know/

I was wrong on both accounts. His words are like honey, they’re smooth and free flowing and so, so amazingly easy to read. And since his father was a quaker, he didn’t touch actual christians and went after the bible only. With real, actual logic and evidence found only in the bible. It felt like analysis from the inside, rather than someone who was never going to respect the text.

He logically goes through the old and new testaments like an English teacher with a red pen. He uses logic and (duh) reason to refute the bible while still supplying adequate reason for a belief in God.

This came at a perfect time in my life as I am thinking about how I can apply my beliefs in God to my beliefs in science and let them get along. He also raises a lot of concerns about the bible that I have had myself, so it was really nice to be able to see it written down.

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

