Percy Jackson and Friends | Rick Riordan

The Book

What I have come to call Percy Jackson and friends follows two book series. Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus, both of which feature a certain Percy Jackson, thus the name. Basically Percy Jackson discovers he’s a (spoilers) demigod and is the son of Poseidon when he is twelve and then over the next umpteen books he proves his awesomeness by defeating a Titan and and then Gaia. Freakin’ Gaia. Featuring: The Clueless Hero, BAMFemales, demigods, YA treasure tropes.

The Characters

  • The characters were well written and they had a long time to be fleshed out.
  • There are just so many characters there is no way I’m going to write up on all of them.
  • The relationships develop over time into what they become and they change and mutate as things happen and time flows which is always really super good.

The Plot

  • He starts out young which is always surprising for a YA.
  • It’s very similar to Harry Potter in some respects (such as these) but I found the beginning of the series a little too young for me as an adult. They’re still entertaining, don’t get me wrong, but they’re young in a way that draws me out of the immersion process.

Conflict

  • While there is Deus Es Machina, there is a whole lot less than expected. It’s a series about gods how can there not be! But most of the time the group had to solve the challenges on their own.
  • Anna Kendrick once distinguished musicals from movies with singing by saying that in musicals the songs move the plot forward or they reveal something about the character. So too with conflict. The conflict needs to move the plot forward or reveal something or there’s no point in it. Percy Jackson and friends does this well. Each conflict has a clear purpose, and most of the time it does more than just move the story forward.

Points of Dis/Interest:

  • Everybody gets paired up. To us single people that’s just a slap in the face.

Etc. The Importance of YA Lit.

My sister likes to say that if you only read popular lit then you’re not a real reader. I’ll tell you a secret: She buys classics because they look good on her shelf, not necessarily to read. I’ll tell you another: Classics are usually in the public domain and can be purchased, legally, for free, for your kindle or e-reader which is far more sustainable. (don’t hate me I love real books)

I value what my sister thinks of me so I don’t usually argue with her on this topic, but the chances of her getting this far down my blog is slim, so I can say whatever I want. I think you are a reader if you’ve only read Twilight and I hate Twilight I hate what it tells to young girls and the writing is really bad. But if that’s what gets you into reading that’s great. I tried for years to get my best friend to read and she wouldn’t. But After she picked up Twilight she was off, so I can begrudge it a little something.

YA lit can often be heavy handed and obvious. It’s not always the best writing in the world. But what it can do is start a conversation. The Hunger Games is a seriously popular series. it’s not always nuanced and “clever” like Harry Potter or C.S. Lewis, Marley, but it gets people talking about the sort of violence we expose ourselves to on a daily basis for a start. And isn’t that better than nothing.

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

