Illusive | Emily Lloyd-Jones

Edit-Illusive

The Book

The Vaccine to the MK virus epidemic did a lot of things. But no one expected it to do this. For about 3% of the population that vaccine gave them powers. The Americans with the side effects were given a choice: Government work, or traitor. Ceire Gilba chose the unspoken third option: Don’t tell anyone and do whatever the hell she wanted. With mobsters and the Government hot on her tail, Ciere and her friends need to make a choice. And no one likes the options. Featuring: Mystiq, Discount X-men, Maybe Gay people?, Strong Female Character

Plot

Illusive was compelling. I like YA, which helps of course, but Emily Lloyd-Jones took the novel in a way that I wasn’t expecting which of course made me want to read it more. It isn’t complicated by a confusing backstory or confusing character relationships or anything. It has a premise and a history and (so far) it’s pretty much stuck to it. I think now people are expecting bigger and more complicated things, but a story doesn’t have to be that. It can be a simple A+C+B story, and that’s what I love about this one.

Characters
Ciere’s backstory was interesting and different. She wasn’t what I was expecting and that made it really interesting. It made sense with her character and it was just good.

There was way less romance than I was expecting for a YA novel. I mean the love triangle-y bit was obvious, but other than that… Are Kit and Magnus a thing? because it looks like they might be a thing and honestly? I’m okay with that.

Conflict

It’s a more unexpected conflict that ends this novel. Coming up against complex enemies, as well as a bit of character building, this conflict is completely in line with the rest of the novel in terms of theme and tone. It’s (spoilers) friends fighting friends and conflicting stories that make me really excited to see what’s next.

Points of Dis/Interest

Who names their kid Alan? Alan???? Pick a more modern name for goodness sake!

Also the characters had interesting relationship dynamics I found.

Etc.:   Embracing Yourself

In the novel, our heroine is an Illusionist. Which means that she can manipulate perceptions into believing something that isn’t real. What has held her back (until – spoilers – the end) is that she’s been fighting with it for half her life. She hasn’t (wait for it) embraced herself (roll credits).

And I think that’s something that everyone has to deal with. Looking at ourselves and saying “this is me.” This isn’t a “you’re beautiful no matter what you look like” speech, this is a “stop feeling so freaking bad about yourself” speech. This is a “well what are you going to do about it” speech. You’re never going to get anywhere unless you acknowledge yourself and acknowledge your flaws.  because you can’t do anything about it if you don’t.

For instance: I don’t have bad acne, but I do have bad skin and more recently I’ve been thinking that it’s at least partially because of the face wash I’m using. So the first chance I get I’m going to go into a store that sells face wash and buy some. I’m going to seek advice and buy a face wash that works with my complexion to clear my skin up. I’m also going to try exercising more and drinking more water for a start. Because I have acknowledged my bad skin, I am able to think rationally about what I can do to make it better. So what can you embrace? And how can you make it better?

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

