Lived In:01-03-2017 The Time Difference

You all know it’s gonna happen: The Time Difference. Australia is almost a full 12 hours ahead of me in the UK. This means quite simply that it’s hard to talk to people. It means that I do most of my talking in the mornings and in the evenings. If it’s the middle of the day, chances are you’re asleep in Australia. (I have nerd friends who go to be early) If I go shopping and want a second opinion I either have to deal without one, or have to come back later after you’ve gotten back to me to buy it.

And when you’re travelling alone this can be the most isolating thing. I can’t call my friends at 12 PM because I want a chat. I have to wait until at least 8PM before they’re awake to talk to them.

To me it’s like I’m operating in two timezones at once. I look at the clock. It’s 11AM. That means it’s 9PM over there. it’s a constant knowledge. It’s 4PM here, it’s 2AM there. The time when I’m most awake, they’re most asleep. It’s something to get used to, but it’s hard when you’re alone.

I’m sure that the moment I start working it will be easier. I will have more people to talk to, more things to do to occupy my time.

I’m just warning you. It can be hard.

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

