Destination: Moon | Rod Pyle

Pexels_Moon_Science

The Book

It’s subtitle reads : The Apollo Missions in the Astronauts own words. But it’s more than that. It’s more than just a verbatim account of the Apollo Missions. It’s also a full gloss photo account of the events. Rod Pyle narrates the successes and the failures opposite beautiful photographs.

The Good Bits

I would argue that this book could get someone into science. Before this book I’d seen Apollo 13 and had a mild interest in space fuelled by The Martian. Now, I’m reading more non-fiction about space exploration and the universe than I ever have.

If you ever thought that the Moon Landing was a hoax, I might suggest this book. It’s full colour glossy images portray a sense of realism I’ve not seen in these images before. If you’ve ever been interested in the moon landings these images are crisp and absolutely brilliant.

With each Apollo Mission, Pyle has included the actual recordings of what was said through most of the event. He also has added later musings by the Astronauts to add to the experience.

The Not-So-Good Bits

I’m sure book have been written about each of the Apollo Missions, so while a 200 page book about them all sure is a good starting point. I will always ask for more (I’m a nerd)

Of course, this novel isn’t a biography at all, but due to the frequency of the missions and my limited understanding of Astronaut training now, I would have loved to read more about the Astronauts. After all, they were the first of their kind. How do you train for that? That’s what I would have loved.

Thoughts from the Back Cover | Science!

I know a lot of people have and continue to question why countries spend billions of dollars on Space Missions. And I kind of get it, I mean, the USA literally spent billions of dollars to send 3 men to set up a flag that’s so bleached it could be from anywhere now. But the USA also spent billions of dollars to do something no one had ever done before. They spent that money to bring back countless samples of rocks from another world (or close enough). They’re doing it now. They developed a robot that is currently roaming around on another Planet!

Not only is this the coolest thing, but without space exploration we wouldn’t have those satellites who help us find our way and connect our calls; we’ve got artificial limbs, and hundreds of other technologies because someone saw that giant rock in the sky and decided to go there.

I’ll leave you with this favourite quote of mine:

“From now on we’ll live in a world where man has walked on the moon. It’s not a miracle, we just decided to go.” Captain James A Lovell, Apollo 8, Apollo 13.

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

