Harry Potter and the Cursed Child | Jack Thorne

cursed-child-cast
Curtesy of geekinsider

Mild spoilers maybe idk

The Book

#keepthesecrets If you haven’t heard (how?) there’s a new Harry Potter book out. It follows the son of Harry, Albus, and his tumultuous trek through his first few years at Hogwarts.

 

The Good Bits

– The writing

While it wasn’t written by JK herself, it still definitely left me in the wizarding world the way all the others do. Also, sometimes play format can be distracting, and the quality of the writing meant that there was no distraction at all.

 

-Harry

I love the way that Harry handles being Albus’ parent. I mean, he didn’t always do the right thing, but I could definitely see the love Harry had reflected through his actions and conversations with other characters. Even though he had a rocky relationship, I could see Harry’s love trying to reflect (albeit a little unsuccessfully) onto Albus

 

-Albus

Characters like Albus always intrigue me. I love hearing stories about that one character that defied all expectations and became so different than what people wanted from them. I feel that Thorne did a really good job at alienating Albus from his family

 

-The Thing

The spoiler thing at the end was brilliant and it made me want to cry a little.

 

The Not-So-Good Bits

– Novel/Film/Play differences

What confused me a little was how some scenes didn’t seem to quite match up with the novel or the film. (at least not that I remember) That left me wondering about the canon. I get that there’s book canon and film canon and they can overlap, but is there now Play Canon? If it’s a continuation then where does it sit with the others?

 

– Complicated scenes

While I’m sure just an impressive but, some of the stage directions and scene descriptions left me wondering how they were going to do that on stage as opposed to the actual plot. But I totally understand why, I mean, the whole thing was written as a production, not a book, so this bit I get.

 

Thoughts from the Back Cover | Ethics and Time Travel

So for a long time Wizards had Time turners. How did that effect ethics? Were they constantly going back and collecting wizards before they died? Getting criminals before they did stuff? Surely there would have been an ethics committee for the use of time travel because otherwise if you take the wrong person the whole world goes up in smoke.

If it wasn’t for saving people, was it to attend awesome events? Let students study a million different things at once? Because right now I’m thinking Time Turner and I’m thinking a hell of a lot of ethical dilemmas that I personally would hate to deal with.

So my question to you, is why were time turners invented?
Get Reading. Get Travelling

Ash

Leave a Reply

