The Great Gatsby | F. Scott Fitzgerald

fc550x550royal_blue-u2
Curtesy of Redbubble

The Book

The story is told by Nick Carraway, but it’s by no means his tale. We are quickly introduced to Carraway’s neighbour Jay Gatsby and the mysteries that surround him. He throws large and magnificent parties for anyone who happens to turn up and soon cajoles Carraway into helping him (Gatsby) reconnect with long lost love, the beautiful (and married) Daisy Buchanan.

The Good Bits

– Gatsby

Spoiler alert: Gatsby isn’t exactly who he says he is. Or at least, his past is not exactly as easy as he makes out. He surrounds himself with mystery so people aren’t surprised when stories are wrong, which is just cleaver. He seems determined to keep up the facade despite literally coming into contact with someone who knows more of his backstory. That’s bravery.

– The Format

It’s not too often you come across a story told by one person about another in first person. I’ve always been interested in telling stories in new ways. And looking at a story not from the “chosen one’s” perspective, but from the friends perspective. Those stories aren’t told as much and they’ve always spoke to me.

 

The Not-So-Good Bits

– Gatsby Parties

Despite liking the character, and this could be some more personal bias, I didn’t like the parties he threw. He seemed to determined to throw as much stuff in between himself and everyone else so they wouldn’t notice that he was hollow, his past tucked away in a box far away. While I love the idea of reinvention, I definitely don’t think it should come at the cost of emptiness.

Thoughts From the Back Cover | Reinvention

Reinventing yourself is a good way to be the person that you want to be. It doesn’t have to be as extreme as Gatsby’s, but if you want to be kinder, then make the effort to, and after a while, it won’t be so hard. I’ve recently started making the effort to be a cleaner person, and to clean  the house un asked, and I can tell you, it’s hard, but I know that it’s going to pay off. When I finally live alone (or without my parents) I know that being a clean person is going to make my life a whole lot easier. It works with everything.

If you want to learn an instrument, then set aside the time each day and force yourself to do it. If you want to be fit or healthy force yourself to have self control and do it. I know it’s not always easy. I know, I’m still struggling, but in the spirit of reinvention, let me tell you, it’s possible. You can be the person you want to be, you can achieve your dream (American or otherwise) you just have to be the person to do it.

Get Reading. Get Travelling.

Ash

Leave a Reply

